Be Ye Not Unequally Yoked

Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

2 Corinthians 6:14

My freshman year of college, I met a guy and developed a minor crush. I say minor because this whole thing lasted about a week, but I’m getting ahead of myself. He was in my class, and during the summer semester all of my actual friends had decided to go home. So I was the only one taking classes out of my small group of friends. I had one “friend” on campus, and I would Skype my best friend every night. Anyway, then I ran into this guy in the dining hall, and even though I knew him from class we weren’t close. He liked anime and he studied computer engineering, and I was thoroughly impressed by how brilliant he was.We sat and talked about linguistics and history until the dining hall closed, and he kept hanging up whenever his friend tried to call him because they were supposed to play some video game together. He also thought it was hilarious that I couldn’t go thirty seconds without hitting the home button on my phone, typing in the password, and then closing it out again.The point was he was a nice guy, and at nineteen he seemed like the kind of nice guy my dad always talked about my sister and I meeting. I was curious about him, but he wasn’t a Christian.

It was that last fact…the Christian thing that heightened my curiosity about him. I asked my campus ministry leader, “Why can’t you date non-Christians?” In the conversation that followed, she said to me, “Because you don’t love the same things.” That night, I prayed about it. Same question. Every day. And then Friday came. Friday was the day my campus ministry met. On Friday I encountered the Holy Spirit for the first time. I learned what it means to worship God, in spirit and in truth. I was on my knees for over an hour, and I realized that Jesus is beautiful and that he’s Holy. I wanted to tell everyone. It was then that I realized that God answered my question, “Why should we not be unequally yoked with nonbelievers?” Because they can’t know…not really…what love is because to know love is to know God. I understood then what my campus leader meant when she said, “you don’t love the same things.”

Generally speaking I don’t write about relationships. I’m not qualified to having been in exactly one (and that one didn’t even work out), but when we’re talking about being unequally yoked it’s not about relationship experience it’s about love for God. Our obedience to him is an outpouring of that love.

A repeated theme throughout the scriptures is a desire to serve God and something else. The Bible is full of dichotomies — either you are for God or you are against him, either you are walking in your Spirit or being a slave to your flesh, either God is your master or money is your master, either you are a Child of God or a Child of Satan — there is no middle ground (Galatians 5:17, Matthew 6:24, Matthew 12:30, Luke 11:23, John 8:43-44, etc). Notice that in Paul’s rejection of being unequally yoked he’s juxtaposing righteousness against unrighteousness and light against darkness. I heard a pastor say once that to be a Christian or not to be one is not a question of being good or bad but being alive or dead.Therefore, pursuing a relationship with someone who is not in God is a rejection of Him. When as Christians we decide to date non-believers we’re making a choice to serve flesh over Spirit. We’re choosing someone who doesn’t love the same things we love.

Galatians 5: 16, “This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.”

Insert random Christian song to end blog post:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

